Update!!

Oh friends…

The time is here. I can really start talking about where my writing space is headed. I didn’t have all the pieces in place for a long time.

And then I thought that I did. So I got a web developer and off we went together creating an awesome new space. I started writing this update post but God took over the blog space for a long time. He shoved me over and did some re-working.

He ruined my plan, actually. So we’ve gone back and reworked most of it…bless my web developer’s heart.

And now…it’s simply lovely and I am so excited to discuss.

Here’s the deal: I’m beyond passionate about wellness and healthy living, because I believe that every breath, every cell, ever molecule and every moment is a priceless gift and opportunity from God. Here’s what I know: I’ve wasted it. In so many ways I’ve wasted it.

So. During the development of the new space I had been really going through some major heart change…heart surgery, if you will. God was just dumping out my heart closet and almost everything was in the “throw out pile.” There’s something that happens when I look at my heart mess–I freak out. I completely freak out and move into the fear space that says I’m worthless and unusable and have ruined my reputation, etc, etc, etc. But from this space, God has healed me, strengthened me, and, through SO much seeking, trembling, writing, and weeping on my yoga mat…He moved. And I started really praying for God to grow my arms, to be a true doer of the Word. “I want to CARE about your justice on earth. Less of me, Father…more of You…ALL of You! Devour me, Jesus.”

Not soon after, God caused me to hear about She Reads Truth and they were beginning the study on Justice. Boom. Nothing will grow your heart space in the direction of serving His people like a study on His justice. I was moved…and if anybody follows me on Instagram…I blew up their feed. I couldn’t stop with all of this truth! (Sorry, friends, who were growing tired of those posts). 

…and that’s how God ruined my blogspace. I thought this was a separate heart space, this journey I was painfully walking through. It was something that I was seeking to grow in my own personal walk. I had these piles of things that God was cleaning out of my heart closet, and while most of them were to throw out…there was this other pile…a pile that still needs a lot of sifting and repair.

But it’s not to give away, it’s to give to you.

The Lord has placed a unique and heavy burden on me to share even though I want to clamp my mouth shut. I’ve been an over-sharer from birth and as I have claimed and grown this space of peace in my heart and life, I worry about talking. But the Lord has placed this burden on me and as I share this space, my only hope and prayer is that He will be made much of.

I have been a lover of sinning in secret, and speaking about anything that comes to my mind. I have not been a person of intention and I have not been a person who gives. I have been a pursuer of chaos and emotional confusion. But God has BROKEN my heart, and His grace has just completely ruined me. I’m ruined, I tell you. His gift is my gift to give.

So here we go. Now it’s time to share what this space will be:

The new name is…. Dwell: Practicing Whole Wellness! I’ve even got a fancy shmancy logo and everything. The name? I’ll break it down because each and every word in that name means everything to me.

Dwell – the space where the Spirit resides upon our acceptance of His grace. The space where He actively works in me…prays over me…speaks to me…convicts and encourages me….and completely CHANGES me, from one degree of glory to another. This is my first intention…to know Him more, and intimately. To live my life gently & quietly, resting in this space no matter what I’m doing, and what’s going on around me. To engage in a constant conversation with the Alimighty indwelling richly in me.

Practicing – because it’s all a practice till glory, yeah? The dwelling space is the launch pad for this action, and my actions must pour from that space. Life’s a practice, and there is no perfect. The action between the Spirit and I is found in the doing…in the sinking my hands deep into life with the intention of His heart. This has never been my intention before in my life, nor has it been anything that I’ve ever done. But here I am, friends, sleeves rolled up and hands in…ruining my manicure.

Whole – mind, body, soul & spirit. Not just eat healthy and feel better. Entire being…all of it. Whole body worship.

Wellness – It is well with my soul. My whole self is cast at Your feet, held in Your arms, lifted by Your grace, and renewed by mercy. Yes, and Amen. My wellness is found in the life lived from my dwelling space, serving Your people and serving the church–all of us blood-bought daughters and sons of God.

Here’s what I’ll be writing about:

my life…the boring and lovely

Feeding the Hungry, and what that looks like in my own simple little life…this is a hard space for me. Be prepared to watch me struggle to follow Him in this. It’s a brand spanking new journey for me. But I see now how He has prepared me my entire life for this moment. I feel READY. Game face = on.

The Giving Garden: a new project that God has just completely blown into our family because He is good. Find more about that later!

Yoga, and what that looks like for the believer

Lots and Lots more…with every post bearing my deepest intention for peace and intimacy with Jesus our Savior. And that means everything from iPhoto organizing tips to feeding the hungry in my neighborhood to claiming a quiet space in my home. Let’s allow peace to infiltrate every small area of our life. Please join me as I grow into the notion that God cares about all these areas and spaces in my life and what it looks like to give Him reign over them. In the smallest ways.

The tentative launch date is October and I will do my oh-so-very best to accomplish that. Name of Jesus. Yikes.

So there you go. It is my journey and my hope that we can all come to a better space of peace and intentionality in everything we do.

It isn’t a coincidence that the structure of this blog is based on everything I struggle most in and have ignored most of my life in pursuit of my own selfish gain. It’s just simply not a coincidence. We’ll trudge on together, friends. We’ll approach every battle from the place of victory as it’s already been won…

….let’s go. He is our brave.

– Katie

Leave a Reply

